Women's Track & Field


Tornado place 16 on academic all-conference team

Tornado place 16 on academic all-conference team

BRISTOL, Tenn. – With the conclusion of the indoor track and field season, Conference Carolinas has announced their academic all-conference teams. A total of 16 Tornado student-athletes were honored as 10 women's and six men's track and field athletes earned recognition.

On the women's side, Maegan Henry and Eliza Parker headlined the group of 10 individuals. Henry won Conference Carolinas indoor championships in both the shot put and weight throw while Parker took home three titles, winning the 5,000, 3,000, and mile runs at the championships.

Evan Ferrell and Shelbie Burchfield also garnered recognition, and were a couple of King's top performers at the conference meet. Ferrell finished third in the 5,000 meter run, and took fourth in the 3,000 meters while Burchfield took fifth in the high jump. Alexis Robinson also had a solid meet at the conference championships, finishing fifth in the 60 meter dash, and fourth in the 200 meters.

Jeremy Stamper headlines the men's honorees as he took second place at the conference championships in both the shot put and weight throw. Taylor Dix and Dickson Kurgat were also honored, the duo helped the distance medley relay to a fourth place finish. Tom Lamkinwas also named to the team. He took home a fourth place finish in the weight throw, and eight place in the shot put at the conference meet.

League member institutions stress the role of "Academics and Athletics Working Together" and each sport's academic all-conference award winners exemplify this continued league-wide commitment. Conference Carolinas is pleased to announce that 23 female track and field athletes along with 26 male track and field athletes represent this standard of excellence for Conference Carolinas.

The 2014 Conference Carolinas Indoor Track and Field Academic All-Conference representatives have been awarded to the following junior and senior student-athletes with a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale in all work completed at their member institution that have played in a conference sponsored sport. The GPA is calculated based on the student-athletes cumulative average through the previous semester and each student-athlete must have attended their member institution for at least one academic year.

Women's Indoor Track & Field Academic All-Conference Team

Angel Pearsall, Barton
Ericka Skinner, Barton
Tabby Arwood, King
Alexis Robinson, King
Carly Griffith, King
Shelbie Burchfield, King
Tia Keitt, King
Emily Davidson, King
Eliza Parker, King
Maegan Henry, King
Kendra Sokol, King
Evan Ferrell, King
Taryn Moorhead, Lees-McRae
Heather Peterman, Lees-McRae
Meagan Thornton, Lees-McRae
Claire Huminski, Limestone
Michelle Lackey, Limestone
Quaneshia Matthews, Limestone
Christina Jordan, Mount Olive
Talita Rocha, Mount Olive
Erin Kicklighter, North Greenville
Kelly Knutson, North Greenville
Corinne Schmidt, North Greenville

Men's Indoor Track & Field Academic All-Conference Team

Austin Edmonds, Barton
Daniel Strutton, Barton
Darren Balkey, Belmont Abbey
Jean-Luc Rolland, Belmont Abbey
Stephen Louis, Belmont Abbey
Tim Gill, Belmont Abbey
Dickson Kurgat, King
Spencer Frantom, King
Thomas Lamkin, King
Jeremy Stamper, King
Taylor Dix, King
Wesley Brillhart, King
Tyler Dunn, Lees-McRae
Ryan Trask, Lees-McRae
Thomas Keen, Limestone
Tristan Perignon, Limestone
Joseph Smith, Limestone
Brandon Stanley, Limestone
Michael Cherry, Mount Olive
Sebastian Diebel, Mount Olive
Nicholas Mac Adam, Mount Olive
Jordan Willett, Mount Olive
Stephen Howard, North Greenville
Timothy Paul Scott, North Greenville
Keith Simmons, North Greenville
Kylan Steinert, North Greenville