Eight Named to Conference Carolinas All-Academic Team

Eight Named to Conference Carolinas All-Academic Team

HIGH POINT, N.C. – Eight King College student-athletes from the men's and women's tennis teams have been placed on the 2012 Tennis Academic All-Conference team. All five members of the men's starting lineup made the list while three Lady Tornado earned the honor. League member institutions stress the role of "Academics and Athletics Working Together" and each sport's Academic All-Conference award winners exemplify this continued league-wide commitment.  

Of the 51 student-athletes that earned a place on the All-Academic team, eight came from King College teams. Jose Avilla, Leo Brigato, Pablo Vidal, Patrick Jones, and Seth Hale were among the 28 people named on the men's side while Sarah Anderson, Eden Sherrod, and Kelsey Copeland joined 20 others on the women's side.

The 2012 Conference Carolinas Tennis Academic All-Conference representatives have been awarded to junior and senior student-athletes with a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale in all work completed at their member institution that have played in a conference sponsored sport. The GPA is calculated based on the student-athletes cumulative average through the previous semester and each student-athlete must have attended their member institution for at least one academic year.

Each year the Academic All-Conference Team is released while closing out each regular season before starting the tournament championships. Erskine College will host the 2012 Conference Carolinas Tennis Championships at the Palmetto Tennis Center in Sumter, S.C. The championship will begin Friday, April 20 and will conclude Sunday, April 22. The top eight men's and women's teams qualify for the tournament based on regular season finish. Conference Carolinas championship winners will receive an automatic bid to the NCAA Championships.

For more details and all the information throughout the spring championship season, stayed linked to the Spring Championships Central page for updated results.

The Tornado will take to the road for their next three matches, beginning with a match at Shaw University on April 13. They will close out the Conference Carolinas slate on April 14-15 with road matches versus Barton and Queens (N.C.). King will then return for one last home match against Pikeville University on April 17 before heading into the conference tournament.


Women's Tennis Academic All-Conference Team

Lindsey Frederick, Barton College

Lindsay Toth, Barton College

Abby Poetker, Belmont Abbey College

Olivia Self, Converse College

Abby O'Reilly, Erskine College
Nikki Miller, Erskine College
Tessa Rheault, Erskine College

Victoria Stephens, Erskine College

Eden Sherrod, King College

Kelsey Copeland, King College

Sarah Anderson, King College

Jimena Munoz, Limestone College

Patricia Guedes, Mount Olive College
Pietra Viana, Mount Olive College
Cassie Curtis, North Greenville University

Haley Hardwick, North Greenville University

Rebecca Beacham, North Greenville University

Briana Oliver, Pfeiffer University

Chelsi Haefele, Pfeiffer University

Kaleigh Featherstone, Pfeiffer University

Erin Williams, Queens University of Charlotte

Kaitlyn Blakey, Queens University of Charlotte

Morgan Roberts, Queens University of Charlotte


Men's Tennis Academic All-Conference Team 

Pier-Alexandre Desilets, Barton College

Andrew Gazich, Belmont Abbey College

Robert Franer, Belmont Abbey College

Vincent Chauvette, Erskine College

Angelo Ciarrocchi, Erskine College

Jose Avila, King College

Leo Brigato, King College

Pablo Vidal, King College

Patrick Jones, King College

Seth Hale, King College

Alexander Hayes, Lees-McRae College

Marcelo Tatai, Lees-McRae College

Austin McAlister, Limestone College

Abraham Lascari, Limestone College

Diogo Sender, Mount Olive College

Pablo Alejandro Vasquez, Mount Olive College

Frederico Vieira, North Greenville University

Hugo Ciarrocchi, North Greenville University

Benjamin Hunter, Pfeiffer University

Luis Villalta, Pfeiffer University

Bryce Boothby, Queens University of Charlotte

Bryant Fuller, Queens University of Charlotte

Christopher Kennedy, Queens University of Charlotte

Christiaan Lee-Daigle, Queens University of Charlotte

James McKinzie, Queens University of Charlotte

Joshua Bloch, Queens University of Charlotte

Gustavo Munhoz, Queens University of Charlotte

Raahil Dhruva, Queens University of Charlotte