NCAA announces wrestling brackets featuring King duo

BRISTOL, Tenn. - King College's NCAA Division II Wrestling national qualifiers, Frank Morgan and Brandon Tressler, know the bracket for the championship March 11-12 as announced by the national office.

Morgan (Maynardsville, Tenn.) will face Mercyhurst's Michael Pollard in an opening-round match within the 197-pound bracket. Morgan was the Super Region II champion while Pollard finished fourth in his region. The other two grapplers in the quadrant are Eli Arizmendez, from Grand Canyon, and Upper Iowa's Carl Broghammer. Arizmendez has a 20-2 record and was ranked No. 5 nationally after his runner up super region finish.

The Tornado's Morgan enters the event ranked No. 3 within the weight class nationally with an 18-3 record on the season and two of the setbacks were against NCAA Division I foes. This is his third national appearance with two NAIA trips in 2008 and 2009. In 2009 he was a national runner up at 197 pounds.

Tressler (Orlando, Fla.) makes the nationals as a sophomore at 184-pounds with a fourth-place finish at the NCAA Division II Super Region II tournament. He will take a 17-11 record against Super Region III winner Aaron Norgren and his 26-8 record. Norgren, from Minnesota State, was ranked fifth nationally in the weight class.

Joining Tressler and Norgren in the bottom quadrant of the bracket will be Grand Canyon's Ryan Becerra and Londele Cox, from Mercyhurst. Becerra and a 26-11 record was a super region runner up while Cox was third in his super region and owns a 15-5 record.

Session one will begin Friday at noon eastern with session two at 7 p.m. Session one will have all first round matches from the 10 weight classes and session two will be the quarterfinals of the winners' draw and eight wrestle back matches for each bracket. On Saturday session three starts at 11 a.m. with semifinal contests and wrestle back matches to determine third, fifth and seventh-place finishers. The Parade of All-Americans has a 7:45 p.m. scheduled start and the championship finals at 8 p.m. with all 10 championship matches.

For more championship information, click here.