King trio on Conference Carolinas Academic All-Conference squad

HIGH POINT, N.C. - Conference Carolinas is proud to announce the 2011 Men's Volleyball Academic All-Conference award winners with three coming from King College.

The Tornado placed senior Manuel Davila (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.) along with juniors James Friddle (Cartersville, Ga.) and Michael Koebel (Richmond, Va.) on the six-person squad. Joining the King trio were Timothy Ebbecke and Alexander Vazquez from Mount Olive (N.C.) College and Lees-McRae (N.C.) College's Juan Ramirez.

League member institutions stress the role of "Academics and Athletics Working Together" and each sport's Academic All-Conference award winners exemplify this continued league-wide commitment.

The 2011 Conference Carolinas Men's Volleyball Academic All-Conference representatives have been awarded to the following junior and senior student-athletes with a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale in all work completed at their member institution that have played in a conference sponsored sport. The GPA is calculated based on the student-athletes cumulative average through the previous semester and each student-athlete must have attended their member institution for at least one academic year.

Each year the Academic All-Conference Team is released while closing out each regular season before starting the tournament championships. The Conference Carolinas 2011 Men's Volleyball championship game will be hosted by the highest seeded team upon regular season conclusion on Thursday, April 21. Mount Olive will be hosting this year's championship match as they recently finished atop the regular season standings.

King closes out the regular season Tuesday with a 7 p.m. contest at Pfeiffer (N.C.).

Men's Volleyball Academic All-Conference Team

Juan Ramirez, Lees-McRae College

Timothy Ebbecke, Mount Olive College

Alexander Vazquez, Mount Olive College

Manuel Davila, King College

James Friddle, King College

Michael Koebel, King College

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletic conference made up of 11 teams from North Carolina and South Carolina. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Coker College, Converse College, Erskine College, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, Mount Olive College, Pfeiffer University, Queens University of Charlotte, and St. Andrews Presbyterian College.  For the upcoming 2011-12 academic year King College (Bristol, TN) and North Greenville University (Tigerville, SC) will join as full Conference Carolinas league members.

Portions of the release were from Conference Carolinas Sports Information

King defeats Pfeiffer in five
February 19, 2010 King defeats Pfeiffer in five