Avila, Vidal Named to Tennis All-Conference Team

Avila, Vidal Named to Tennis All-Conference Team

HIGH POINT, N.C. – Jose Avila and Pablo Vidal have been named to the Men's Tennis All-Conference Team, Thursday evening. The announcement comes from the league office prior to the start of the Conference Carolinas Tennis Tournament this weekend.

Jose Avila (Cuernavaca, Mexico) was named to the All-Conference First Team after posting an 11-5 overall singles record as the No. 1 in the King lineup. The sophomore finished 8-2 in single play against league opponents and won his first five singles matches in conference.  In nine of his 11 wins this season, he beat his opponents in two sets.

Pablo Vidal (Madrid, Spain) completed his sophomore season with a 13-5 overall record, primarily serving as the team's No. 2 starter. He was named to the Conference Carolinas All-Conference Third Team behind a 7-3 record in Conference Carolinas singles play, winning four of his last five singles matches. In his lone match as the team's No. 1, he earned a 6-4, 6-0 win against Bluefield College (Oct. 4). He began the season 7-0 in singles play before his first defeat.

The combination of Avila/Vidal went 10-7 in doubles play, 4-6 in league play, as the team's top doubles team. The tandem has won the last five doubles matches, four against league opponents.

The Conference Carolinas All-Conference Teams were determined by vote from each Head Coach of participating league institutions. Nominations were collected and then voted upon by ballot and tallied to determine Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year, All-Conference First Team, All-Conference Second Team and All-Conference Third Team. Awards were presented at the league tennis team banquet at the Conference Tournament Championships co-hosted by Erskine College and the Palmetto Park Tennis Complex in Sumter, S.C.

A complete list of the 2012 men's tennis awards is below.

All-Conference First Team: 

Carlos Yanes, Limestone

Christiaan Lee-Daigle, Queens

Edgar Bub, Mount Olive

Mike Stephenson, Limestone

Alexander Hayes, Lees-McRae

Jose Avila, King

All-Conference Second Team: 

Rafael Ferla, Limestone

Brahm Moolman, Mount Olive

Joshua Bloch, Queens

Murilo Pelegrino, Mount Olive

Angelo Ciarrocchi, Erskine

Manel Estruga, Coker

All-Conference Third Team: 

Pier-Alexandre Desilets, Barton

Pablo Vidal, King

Diogo Sender, Mount Olive

Conner McMann, Belmont Abbey

Akio Mariano, Mount Olive

Player of the Year:

Carlos Yanes, Limestone


Freshman of the Year:

Edgar Bub, Mount Olive


Coach of the Year:

Kevin Coghill, Mount Olive


Eastern Division Regular Season Champions

Mount Olive College


Western Division Regular Season Champions

Limestone College